Ann Woolcock

Ann Woolcock

Ann Woolcock

Birth : Ann Janet Woolcock (1937-12-11)December 11, 1937(age 83) Reynella,Australia

Death : February 17, 2001(2001-02-17)(aged 63) Sydney,Australia

Personal Information

Name Ann Woolcock
Birth (1937-12-11)December 11, 1937(age 83) Reynella,Australia
Birth Place (age 83) Reynella,Australia
Death (2001-02-17)(aged 63) Sydney,Australia
Died At Sydney,Australia
Nationality Australian

Word Cloud

Events Occured in Scienctist Life


Ann Janet Woolcock AO FAA FRACP (11 December 1937 – 17 February 2001) was an Australian respiratory physician–scientist and one of the world's leading asthma experts.


In 1992 Woolcock became the first woman in clinical medicine to be elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science.


She was a founding member and President of the Asian Pacific Society of Respirology, and was the Principal Scientist of the Cooperative Research Centre for Asthma (CRC for Asthma) in 1999.


Ann Janet Woolcock was born in Reynella, South Australia on 11 December 1937.


She then went on to study medicine at the University of Adelaide before beginning her postgraduate studies in respiratory medicine at University of Sydney to complete a thesis on the mechanical behaviour of lungs in asthma (awarded 1967) with a focus on hyperinflation.


During 1966 and 1968, Woolcock lived in Montreal, Quebec, Canada and worked at McGill University as the Overseas Research Fellow for the Asthma Foundation of NSW.


She was appointed as senior lecturer at the University of Sydney Department of Medicine in 1973 and became associate professor in 1976.


In 1985, Woolcock founded the Institute of Respiratory Medicine, based at the Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney.


In 2002, the institute was renamed Woolcock Institute of Medical Research in memory of her, following her passing in 2001.


In 1968, Woolcock married Ruthven Blackburn (1913–2016), a professor of medicine at the University of Sydney, later emeritus professor Blackburn AC.


She died on 17 February 2001 in Sydney.


  • Officer of the Order of Australia in 1992
  • Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, 1992
  • Corresponding Member of the Académie de Médicine Française in 1993
  • Society Medal of the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand, 1998
  • Distinguished Achievement Award of the American Thoracic Society, 1998
  • European Respiratory Society Presidential Award 2000 for Enhancing the Profile of Respiratory Medicine Worldwide
  • Honorary Doctorate of Medicine from the University of Ferrara, Italy 2001